Poets logo

twilight evanescence

is summer supposed to feel this heavy

By Chloë J.Published 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
21
twilight evanescence
Photo by Tony Phan on Unsplash

for a single fleeting moment,

my eyes found you in the dusk;

a stolen star,

lingering,

lazy and seductive

to decorate my twilight.

I was a heavy and fallen blue,

you, my homing beacon,

my will-o’-the-wisp-

my Fata Morgana.

I thought we were both flying,

but you were the only one with wings.

I wish I had tried harder to fit you in my jar.

I blinked.

you disappeared.

your luminance, my reference point,

gone.

and I, wretched and the empty sort of black,

stared into the dark,

searching for my

flash in the pan.

my firefly love.

sad poetryheartbreak
21

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    "and I, wretched and the empty sort of black" I dunno why, but the phrasing of this line is so MUCH. I can't get over it. Beautiful poem. Very novel in its content. I love the emotionality behind an almost child-like venture, catching a firefly. I do relate to it, though. It may be fleeting, but the chase and capture is so intense, it really is like falling in love.

  • MT Poetry11 months ago

    The line "I thought we were both flying, but you were the only one with wings" showcases the poet's realization of the unequal nature of their affection.💕Really love it🥰 Congrats for top story👏

  • Lena Folkert11 months ago

    Wow! This is so touchingly beautiful! Absolutely well deserved TS! Congrats! Subscribed ;)

  • Test11 months ago

    Beautiful

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Lovely & melancholy!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • WOA11 months ago

    I love your vivid language in this piece. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Beautifully penned. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story! Not surprised, this is beautiful!

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    I've never seen a firefly IRL but your words paint a luminescently vivid and beautiful picture, well done!

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    I used to chase fireflies on a path near my house as a kid and you made me think of those days...and other things. ;)

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is superb! love the imagery and the flow!

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Luminous and lyrical, I like it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.