Poets logo

TWILIGHT...

Poetry

By waqar jameelPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I trace the cracks on my bedroom wall to see where I bleed

Red leaks from the splits and this time I don't rush to clean them

I'm tired of hiding my demons

I'm scared of myself, my true self

Perhaps my normal face is the makeup to my abnormal soul

A volatile creature trapped in a cage

A bomb waiting to explode

I wonder if my mother would still see her little angel if I came undone

My hands shake

I'm forced to abandon the blade I was holding

My palms loathe the vacancy

The cuts on my wrists suddenly don't feel enough

My skin feels too smooth

I reach and lift the blade

I look in the mirror

Yet I don't see my reflection....only what's left of it

A ghostly complexion too hard to recognize

My iris turned blacker than a raven, my eyes are no longer mine

As I stare at the horizon while my sun sets never to rise

And my last moment takes my breath away never to return it

I swear

The twilight never looked so beautiful...

vintage
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.