Poets logo

twilight

Half-life in the half-light

By Jacob Nathaniel family of Murray Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
twilight
Photo by Joshua Song on Unsplash

Half-life in the Half-light.

faded with embers of the bonfire.

what now?

I stand alone in the fading light, change to undergo in the afterglow.

change unseen by the world around me.

I see, I breath, I live, in worlds apart.

thus is my sacred curse, and my joyous gift.

In the numbness that follows jubilation and triumph, I feel the calling to be still and listen, to remember beyond the high, who am I?

this place I stand is like a wilderness, desolate, calm, silent, untouched by emotion, seemingly lifeless.

Here I can find truth and reality mingled in my mind as one and the same, untainted perspective.

I am light, a candle in the window, just enough to give hope.

I am shadow, keeper of sacred mysteries, in this I rejoice that I am unseen.

I am duality, mystery without secrets, an impossibility, yet I am.

The night will continue, and dawn will come.

but in the midst of this stillness, in the seemingly mundane, in this place untouched by pomp or jubilation, this is where the truest me is found.

who am I when no one is watching?

Am I all that I claim in the light?

Am I as quick to lend a hand when there is no praise?

Am I as bold about who I think I am when I am only speaking to the mirror?

The good deed done in secret is untainted with pride.

The secret compromise, shows the truth of rotted foundations.

who am I being today? when no one is looking, and it seems like no one cares.

Am I brave enough to look honestly into the mirror?

Will I ask more of myself in the secret places?

These I must answer, within the desert of my mind.

But there is one who has been watching me from the horizon.

I see you standing on the edge of the desert.

You see me no more, but you still hear my voice.

look around you, at this wilderness in your mind.

Your half-life in the half-light.

Who are you?

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jacob Nathaniel family of Murray

Hello!

I am an aspiring author and poet.

I right fiction and allegory, painting the world as I see it with raw emotion.

I seek to inspire, provoke thought, but never to judge, I only tell of my personal experience, and perspective.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.