Poets logo

TWENTY ROCKETS

Two decades without the most important person of my life; this year would have been his 75th birthday.

By Krishan MubasharPublished 17 days ago Updated 17 days ago 2 min read
Like
TWENTY ROCKETS
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Twenty rockets light the sky,

But none can bring back the tears I cry.

Twenty years, the tears won't dry,

His absence still makes this boy cry!

.

In a town where the tide whispers low,

There lived a man with a heart all aglow.

A man of the sea, weathered and wise,

With stormy tales in his sailor's eyes.

He was my father, strong and true,

We faced the storms, our love in view.

.

Twenty rockets light the sky,

But none can bring back the tears I cry.

Twenty years, the tears won't dry,

His absence still makes this boy cry!

.

He taught me to stand tall and brave,

In the face of storms, his spirit I crave.

But now he's gone, and I'm left alone,

In a world that feels so cold as stone.

His laughter echoes in memories dear,

His wisdom whispers, still so near.

But the ache in my heart, it never fades,

As I long for the comfort of his embrace.

.

Twenty rockets light the sky,

But none can bring back the tears I cry.

Twenty years, the tears won't dry,

His absence still makes this boy cry!

.

Daddy,

Though you're gone, your compass guides,

In every swell, in moonlit tides.

I'll hoist the sails, I'll brave the storm,

In your memory, my spirit's born.

Though you're gone, your love remains,

In every sunrise, in gentle rains.

I'll carry your legacy, strong and true,

In all I do, I'll honour you.

I miss you!

*

Ever since I got born, he was the most important person in my life, he meant the world to me. No one could calm me down as easily as him. Due to some betrayals and illegal actions from the German authorities, I had to spend 15 years of my childhood without him. His magic still worked when I was 18 years old. Unfortunately, from the time we met again, we only had seven years together until a fatal stomach rupture ended our time on Easter Monday 2004, at the age of 55.

By Magnus S on Unsplash

(Rakete (=rocket) is an Astra-beer & vodka citrus mixture I love drinking)

*

In Loving Memory to my father

Heinz Rolf Hinz

March 11th, 1949 to April 12th, 2004

sad poetryheartbreakFamily
Like

About the Creator

Krishan Mubashar

An author, who writes tales of human encounters with nature and wildlife. I dive into the depths of the human psyche, offering an insights into our connection with the world around us, inviting us on a journeys. (Christian Bass)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.