Poets logo

Turning Time

November Rain Challenge (unofficial)

By Hope MartinPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
5

Participating in Mother's 6W6L poem contest!

The time of year leaves fall,

Vibrant leaves that look like fire.

The smell of smoke lingers on,

And children who ruin leaf piles,

continue to grow up into adults.

And the world continues to turn.

Oh, man. The feelings that this challenge prompt gave me was a LOT to put into just 36 words.

I chose this approach to Mother Comb's challenge because this time of year always strikes me with feelings of nostalgia, yearning, family, and even a bit of helplessness.

Spring always fills me with a youthful energy. But the beauty and vibrance of fall take me back to being an adult. I look at these leaves and remember my childhood. And now that I have kids, they do these things that kids do in the fall. And every year I stop - right on Halloween and look at my kids, and remember what they were the year before, and the year before And I take in the differences in them, how they are growing. Another year has gone by. And they're getting bigger. It won't stop. So while they are screaming and laughing in the fall leaves while I watch, I just enjoy it. Because one day they won't want to jump in the leaves or go trick or treating. Because the world just keeps going. Year after year, season after season, it's all a cycle. And it never stops. No matter what happens in our life. And so time turns on, no matter how much it hurts our hearts.

nature poetrysad poetryinspirationalHolidayheartbreakexcerptschildrens poetry
5

About the Creator

Hope Martin

I am a published author of a book called Memoirs of the In-Between. I am doing a rewrite of it, as it needed some polishing. I am a mom, a cook, a homesteader, and a second-generation shaman.

Find me on Medium also!

@kaseyhopemartin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Great job Hope! I also enjoyed your reflection at the end. 😊

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is Beautiful. Well done.

  • Sometimes we just wanna stop time and enjoy that moment to our heart's desire. But sadly, time stops for no one. Loved your poem!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    WoW, Hope. Just WoW. This is awesome. I love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.