Poets logo

Turned to Stone

#VocalNPM

By Dale HurstPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

A year to the day since I began my quest

Did I finally concede defeat

By the tranquil pool I lay my weary body

And acknowledged my failures.

One by one like leeches and demons

These failures consumed my mind

I became a shell, a husk, an empty being

And finally turned to stone.

Motionless, bereft and without life

I lay beside the water

Awaiting the verdant forest forces

To drag me to my rest.

A statue and a shell alike

I sank to the abyss

The weight of my soul and body both

A chain to bind and keep me.

As I descended, I had one last thought

The blackness was overtaking

But the face of one whom I had loved

Was a speck of light above me.

At once the spell was broken

The verdant forces repelled

For the speck had spoken with an almighty voice

And raised this hollow effigy.

Life and light now filled the void

And I turned back whence I’d come

To once again vow to triumph over

The forces I’d sworn to vanquish.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dale Hurst

Dale is a writer, restaurant critic, presenter and broadcaster. He has run the food and travel blog Expensive Tastes since 2012 and in 2018, published his debut novel, The Berylford Scandals: Lust & Liberty.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.