Poets logo

Turn off the Light

You always said it's not a light switch you can turn off

By Sonyia KaramPublished 7 months ago 1 min read

I never thought I could just turn off the light.

That to me this would just end.

I had hoped that things would be alright.

I never thought that I could live without the daylight.

A brightness that only blinded.

It caused me to change my sight.

Thinking I couldn’t live in perpetual night.

A relationship that will never mend.

If only the stars could hear my plight.

I had a love for you that, under the circumstances, just felt right.

Thinking that my heart wouldn’t bend.

Remembering that 2020 vision only comes hindsight.

I never thought I could just turn off the light.

A relationship that did end.

I never thought that I could live without the daylight.

But really, I had been living in perpetual night.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Sonyia Karam

I like to dabble in short fictional stories, regardless of genre. I also have a passion for poetry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Test6 months ago

    Well written! Good job!

SKWritten by Sonyia Karam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.