Poets logo

Trying

A dark insight for Samhain

By Mhairi Campbell Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I am a wounded thing, bathed in crimson.

Shadows of the day, tell me

should I pray the sunlight hits me?

For God only knows a wound that would fester

faster than that of horror, a shower

of torrid lonliness; an endlessness

of wanting and searching, hating and loving.

I catch you in a net and then you are gone

a song prolonged by blackened rage.

I turn a page, year in and out the days

are years and the years are merely breaths

that linger in the back of my head.

I blister in a void of something silent

in search of feelings vibrant, but the only word to rouse me is

More.

Yearning and bleating, failing and sealing

the wisps of loveliness that bind the earth in a faltering whisper

into my chest: through blood and bone and lips.

I wish that dark would seize me, throttle and teach me

how to be shadow made woman, to be shadow made man.

That when the void had ate me, a devil to sate me

I could lay down all those little whispers that tell me

I love, I love, I love but I am.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Mhairi Campbell

Just looking for a place to tell my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    Loved it! Loved and subscribed. If you don't mind having a look through my work if you live it please click if you do okease subscribe!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.