Poets logo

Trusting Innocence

Picture perfect

By Colleen Millsteed Published 6 months ago 1 min read
Photo courtesy of the Author

A little living creature in colours so bold,

Asking for so little and waiting so patiently,

A flight down onto the banister railing,

On wings of pristine green,

And head and chest in scarlet red.

**

A chirp or two, such a quiet request,

Tiny feet pitter pattering the wooden rail,

Black beak clicking as a sign of trust,

Knowing your request will be honoured,

Sunflower seeds will be dished by hand.

Photo courtesy of the Author

You are slightly wary,

But not enough for such a wild animal,

As you gingerly creep towards my outstretched hand,

Trusting innocence,

And picture perfect delight.

**

Methodically chewing open each seed pod,

To the tender kernel of joy inside,

My heart swells at the blind trust you honour me with,

As you fill your crop to your hearts content,

And finally chirp your thanks as you spread your wings and fly away.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

Gratitudenature poetry

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Another wonder from your holiday in paradise. Thank you for sharing this with us, Colleen.

  • My toxic trait is that I think I can hand feed a tiger or shark 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your poem and photos!

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.