Poets logo

Trump's Statue of Authority

Lady Liberty is dying.

By Ronalee HutchingamePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

Trump’s Statue of Authority

Like the brazen giant of Orange fame,

with conquering limbs atop groping, tiny hands;

Here at his seaside, elitist Florida gates he shall stand,

and Lord over you all.

Silence a nasty woman bearing a message,

whose womb was once a symbol of light and life,

but which is now a symbol of imprisonment at the hands of man.

“I banish thee, Mother of Exile!”

From his hands, a beacon of lies and distraction will henceforth glow.

With world-wide disdain, his shifty eyes command

the gold-tinged backdrops that two White Houses frame.

“Let us keep our ancient lands, free of your oil, you pompous man!”

the masses cried with silenced lips.

“Do not give me your tired, your poor,

your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,

for I give you instead, wretched refuse on all your teeming shores.”

“Send these, the homeless, (tempest-tossed to me),

back over the wall and to the countries from whence they came.

I lift my golden lamp, and slam shut my golden door!”

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Ronalee Hutchingame

I am a former military wife, now a happy single mom to my 10 yr old daughter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.