Poets logo

True Colors

The Rainbow in Me is the Rainbow in You

By Grace TurnerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Red is the blood running through my veins

Reminding me in whispered refrains

Echoing memories of my ancestors passed

I have all the answers to my questions asked

Orange is the fire on the mountain

Burning needless, transmute into gems

Destroying what was to bring new life again

And from the charred remains, the Phoenix ascends

Yellow is the sun blazing the way

Revealing all I had kept at bay

Illuminating dark corners of my mind

Truth will find the light in good time, in good time

Green is the plant repairing my soul

Renewing my bones, freeing my glow

Waiting for pardon from her chains made of words

From whence the wisdoms of the ages emerge

Blue is the water washing my sins clean

Quenching my thirst, setting my mind free

Renewing my vision to more clearly see

Clarity rises from the force of the need

Purple is the sky as time passes

Rising moon, where she wanes and waxes

Fading day into night with pinks, golds, and blues

Until dawning sun returns the morning dew

Indigo is the magic in dreams

Guiding me places not what they seem

Speaking to me in the language of Spirit

Phantom diamonds, music for those who hear it

Brown is the earth where I will return

Absorbing me, she does not discern

Accepting me, no matter my skin or sex

I shed my leased home and continue my trek

White is the sight of all colors mixed

Filtering through the dark my eyes fixed

Defining my view, each blend a unique lens

My reality, informed, I must transcend

Black is the mystery, quest beyond

Dissolving borders, all the lines I’ve drawn

Suspending color, beyond all I can see

The truth revealed: I am you, and I am we

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Grace Turner

Grace Turner is the penname for an American attorney & mediator practicing in Texas and Colorado whose anonymity means a great deal to her.

Grace is also a dancer, musician, backpacker, artist, dog mother, and devoted wife.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.