Poets logo

Triton's Reprieve

A sonnet for the sea

By J.D. RosePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Triton's Reprieve
Photo by Rebecca Elliott on Unsplash

I sat upon the shore and dug a hole

And squinting turned my face to catch the sun

With wind-blown flaxen filaments of gold

The whipping strands of summers that have gone.

There was a time the ocean tried its best

To swallow up this child. Down below,

I panicked as I could not breach the crest

Of surging waves beneath the undertow.

If I could be a mermaid, swish my tail,

And breathe this water, I thought as I choked,

I’d give away these legs. The sparkling veil

Of churning foam relented then. And soaked

I climbed undaunted from the conquered sea

To dig a hole and sit in reverie.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

J.D. Rose

J.D. Rose (she/her) is an artist and author. She got her start in awful rhyming poetry as a child and has since expanded her horizons to the world of novels, short stories, essays, and even the ocassional awful poem that doesn't rhyme.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.