Poets logo

Trips in My Mind in the AM Ch.3

Little Black Sandals

By LIFE MAZIPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Leif Inge Fosen on Unsplash 

The words

LITTLE BLACK SANDALS

Are sewn into my cells.

They bubble and froth within my blood

And as a result

Tears steam from my eyes

As Sia's notes are thrown at me.

I wonder why

In the last 40 minutes or so

Of my 8 hour day

My lungs felt like they were filled with cotton balls.

I would breathe in deeply

Sucking up the oxygen like a vacuum,

But despite the flow of invisible gas

Entering me

It felt like the sadness,

Confusion

And tension

Radiating from other people

Were the only things I was inhaling.

But I must breathe this in

To survive.

For consuming small amounts of poison

At times

Means you will still live

Even if it is not the best reality.

For if I stopped breathing

Stopped absorbing

I would not be here at all.

I wonder now

How people, like plants

Have been planted into this world

Without consent

And are still trying to take steps

With their little black sandals

In the right direction.

I wonder how even though intentions are pure

Oftentimes they do not travel

Into actions.

And I wonder why

Someone else's sadness

Has cast a shadow on my mind

And stripped me of the sun

I was feeding from.

LITTLE BLACK SANDALS

Has come to an end.

A sweet harmony

Dispensed into the air

Makes my nostrils tickle

And finally my tears stop steaming

And settle as paths on my face.

And even though it doesn't make sense

I know my own sandals

Will carry me to

Peace.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

LIFE MAZI

A RELIC OF GROWTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.