Poets logo

Trinket

A Poem Centered Around Conflicting Feelings of Love

By Gabby CushmanPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

you can keep me in a locket,

a tangled gold chain bouncing

against your chest as you carry me

wherever your traveling feet roam.

i can be your prized possession,

a lucky ring accompanying you

to every last performance.

show me off like i'm a trinket

kept hidden from the world until

the safest of eyes surround me.

treat me like a keepsake

loaded with memories of late night

rambles under the milky way

and the feeling of my fingers

exploring your sea of skin.

keep me in a safe

like a forgotten treasure,

and i'll continue to watch

as you leave the key behind

again and again.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Gabby Cushman

I am a writing student at Michigan State University, and creative writing has always been my passion. I mainly write poetry and fiction, but dabble in creative nonfiction and essays as well. Thank you for checking out my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.