Poets logo

Tree Roots

Stay Grounded so you can Fly

By Annie Edwards Published 2 years ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
5
Tree Roots
Photo by Mel on Unsplash

Tree Roots

I aimlessly stroll through the woods, the branches snapping a beautiful melody beneath my feet.

I find that although in a physical sense, I feel quite lost,

in a spiritual sense, I’m finding more and more of my true self.

Disconnected from all technology… Disconnected from modern society… Disconnected from life’s vitality…

I become more

Connected with my true mentality… Connected with actual reality… Connected with my soul…

I feel compelled to stop for a moment, and lean against a tree.

As my skin melts against the bark in perfect harmony,

it sings an even more beautiful melody, and suddenly, I sink.

And suddenly, we feel in sync…

We become one, the tree, its roots, and I…

And I realize,

this tree wants to deliver a message to me…

“Be firmly grounded in your roots, for they will hold you place, will taking your to your furthest destination.” -Annie Mae Edwards

Isn’t it ironic that when our only navigation tool and our only search mechanism is ourselves…

our roots…

We suddenly end up finding our way… And we suddenly end up finding the answers we’ve been seeking…

Google doesn’t have all the answers…Instead of scrolling, try strolling.

nature poetry
5

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Zari's Diary2 years ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/the-end-of-jollity

  • Zari's Diary2 years ago

    Beautiful poem! You have talent! I love poems about nature and our awesome earth. You should check out some of my poems on here. I would love for you to read my poem "The End of Jollity."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.