Poets logo

Trapped in the Abyss

A Poem on Depression and Despair

By Dhinesh kumar.PPublished about a year ago 1 min read

The world is shrouded in gloom,

A never-ending cycle of doom,

Days bleed into each other,

A constant struggle to recover.

The weight upon my chest,

A burden I cannot divest,

A suffocating sense of dread,

A darkness that's all-encompassing and widespread.

The voices in my head,

Whispering I'm better off dead,

That life is but a cruel joke,

And hope is nothing but smoke.

My energy has been drained,

My spirit has been maimed,

I am a mere shadow of who I used to be,

Lost in the depths of my own misery.

And so I sit in the abyss,

A place of perpetual hopelessness,

A slave to my own depression and despair,

Lost in a world that's simply unfair.

For though I long for the light,

And pray for the end of the night,

I fear that the darkness will never cease,

And I'll forever be a prisoner of this disease.

artsad poetrynature poetryhow toheartbreakfact or fiction

About the Creator

Dhinesh kumar.P

As an adventurer and storyteller, I share my journey to inspire others to chase their dreams and embrace life's challenges. I wrote dark poems and crime stories, please support my work

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dhinesh kumar.PWritten by Dhinesh kumar.P

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.