Poets logo

Trans lives matter

I am a woman, hear me roar

By Marilynn JamesonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Trans lives matter
Photo by Kyle on Unsplash

Oh cursed body, why must thou betray me so?

I feel trapped in this shell, a prisoner of my own flesh.

I long to escape, to be free from the constraints of societal expectations.

I want to be who I truly am, a woman, but society sees me as a man.

I struggle every day to present myself as the woman I know I am,

But the constant stares, the whispered insults, they cut me like a knife.

I am tired of hiding, tired of pretending to be someone I am not.

I will not be silenced, I will not be shamed for who I am.

I am a woman, and I will not let anyone take that away from me.

I will fight for acceptance, for understanding, for my right to exist.

I am proud to be transgender, and I will not apologize for it.

This is my journey, my story, and I will not be defined by anyone else's understanding of it.

I am a woman, and I will be heard.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Marilynn Jameson

Glasgow based writer Marilynn originally hails from Manilla, Philippines. She has a grand vision of art and what it should mean: to sway the heart. She hopes her work sways yours, dear reader.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.