Poets logo

Tranquili-tea In A Cup

A never-ending comfort

By Kishan BaskaranPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Tranquili-tea In A Cup
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Entranced by the dancing steam on the surface

And lost in the developing deep brown hue below

Reflecting the true colour of my pupils

I ready to stop the leaves from burning

The carefully chosen cup is caressed

Returning an embrace to the soul

A sweet floral aroma with hints of spice

Prepares the mind for satisfied sighs

Impatient, I take a sip

The first, scalding

Tongue, Palate, Throat

All numb, but only for a moment

Before a satisfied sigh escapes

AAAAAAAH!

As I trace the movement

Warming my core

Simple worries are momentarily purged

The world is silenced

The calming heartbeats echo

Deafened by periodic sighs

A sense of relief to be lost in the moment

All until I reach for a sip that isn’t there.

Thirsty,

I get water to boil,

Pick out my next set of leaves,

And let the tea steep…

By 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.