Poets logo

TORMENT

I tried to tell you now it's too late

By Paul AslingPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

TORMENT

Pulling the pillow around my ears

It doesn’t work

No matter how hard I press.

I still hear every word

Filtering up through the floorboards.

Smashing glass, loud bangs

So fragile I can never sleep

Close my eyes and hope for an end

Quilt now over my head.

Floor groaning

Tormented

Smirk on his face

His cruel words hit like missiles.

Uneven breath on my cheek

Left silent, left in pain

Hurt sweeping inside.

I tried to tell you

Now it's too late.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Paul Asling

I share a special love for London, both new and old. I began writing fiction at 40, with most of my books and stories set in London.

MY WRITING WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH, CRY, AND HAVE YOU GRIPPED THROUGHOUT.

paulaslingauthor.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.