Poets logo

Too Threatening

A spoken word piece about identity…

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 5 months ago 1 min read
1

Have you ever tried to not be too threatening?

Steadily, I think this reckoning is taking breath from me.

It’s to the point I’m going to need very extensive therapy.

But, every day I feel it means either life or death for me…

And just look at me…

I believe I dress rather impressively. Yes, very Kanye West of me, but simply what I’m gesturing is…

No matter how I change my appearance. What they fear is, my resemblance, to an image, that makes them grimace…

I’m often, carefully measuring my steps and speed, as I try to make myself look more welcoming.

Desperately dodging detective scenes, as neighborhoods watch me like I’m a malicious beast.

They relentlessly try to make me go away like an infectious sneeze, like the only cure for their sickness is the death of…me.

The threat is…me?

Officer, wait let me speak! Aggression? Please! You’re the one with your weapon free. You tell me, “freeze” and “be quiet” while you question me.

Have you ever had to shout the words,

LET!

ME!

BE!

Sometimes, I imagine the world as a beautiful melody…

No attention, no competition for celebrity…

I have no special privilege, and I have no effigy…

Not recognized, for my rhymes, or my selected speech

Every day I wear my outfit and my precious sneaks…

Open the door to my home, and I step with ease…

Everyone I give respect, just gives respect to me…

But, I guess that image is just too threatening…

slam poetryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I love the way you shift the conversation about what it is that's threatening.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.