Poets logo

Too Different To Not Be The Same

A Poem For Equality

By Jasper WolfPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

All around me is yelling

All around me are signs

Black Lives Matter

All Lives Matter

Equality For All

Locking arms, making lines

A battle in our streets

In our backyard for human equality

I step forward and grab a hand

I don't know you

I don't know your name

I don't know your past

I don't know if you care to know me

What I do know is how we came to be

We were all born from a woman

We all were formed by God's hands

We were all once innocent children

Growing up as American brethren

Yet here we are

Screaming and fighting

Some jumping on cars

How did we get here?

How do we fight these tears?

I plead with you

Remember our differences are only skin deep

Don't judge your brothers and sisters like the evil does

The evil who kills over a certain amount of melanin.

Deep inside, we are all the same

Doesn't matter what body we're in.

So grab my hand

Come with me

We'll fight the good fight

We'll get through this pain

After all is said and done,

It won't be in vain.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Jasper Wolf

Founder/Owner of Howling Wolf Freelance Writing

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jasper Wolf (Author)2 years ago

    Thank you. I'm glad those words are reaching people. It's a mind boggling thing on why we fight. I should hate you because your skin is darker than mine? I guarantee you that the reason I'd dislike someone is more than skin deep. But here we are...spilling blood for our outer color. When our inner color is all the same. Stay positive brother. Spread love.

  • Deasun T. Smyth2 years ago

    brilliant, especially 'The evil who kills over a certain amount of melanin' It begs the question, "why do we fight?"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.