Poets logo

Too Big

A poem about feeling too big to be loved.

By Alyssa CarsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes

I take up too much space in the world.

Like if the entire world were one moment

I would stick out,

awkwardly,

like a sore thumb.

Like a pimple.

Like a stain.

I feel giant of such

size and in personality.

And because of this, I start saying

sorry

too much.

I can’t help taking up all of the space.

No matter how many times

I go to the gym,

how well I eat,

how educated I am,

how quiet I can be,

how plain my features,

how I fix my hair,

my speech,

my hand gestures,

my past and present and futures,

I just keep taking up too much space

until I can’t even fit in the room.

I must leave

“Where are you going?”

I’m sorry.

I regret going.

I had to go.

I was annoying.

My retreat is not in this world.

In the real world.

It is where I paint my bigness.

Where I paint inside bigness.

Where bigness is radical.

Avant-garde.

Bold.

Where filling up too much space isn’t possible.

Where I can’t fill up enough space.

Where the world is my oyster

and I am the ocean.

I bathe in the light

that is yet greater than we.

I am big and I am small.

I am apart of something

greater than me.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa Carson

Designing a future everyone can thrive in.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.