Poets logo

Tonight You’re Coming Home

To soothe my soul

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
19
Tonight You’re Coming Home
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

Dawn, a cloudy light on a cloudy morn

The sun breaking through misty white

Dispelling the nightmares of last night

Allowing new dreams to come alive.

***

Hair plastered to sweat-soaked head

Limbs entangled in duvets bed

Pillow held tight in arms of dread

Trying to break free.

***

The same vision every night

Comes unbidden in the darkest light

Clouds of fear make eyelids move

As nightmares take hold.

***

Thrashing legs and anguished moans

Speaking in tongues until the sunrise comes

Pillows clasped in place of you

To help get me through.

***

It’s the same each, and every time

My love, you leave me for awhile

You are my life, my soul, my dream come true

Your being here gets me through.

***

Is it love, a crutch or simply holding on too tight?

When without you I can’t get through the night

Without battling the demons in my life

That you, my love, hold at bay.

***

Whatever the right of it I have one truth

You are the one and my fears you soothe

We live and love in happiness unbound

And tonight you’re coming home.

***

Your presence and purity of soul

Caring demeanour and beauty untold

Tenderly you hold this broken man

And make this empty house our home.

***

And tonight you’re coming home.

surreal poetry
19

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.