Poets logo

Tonight I Can Write the Saddest Lines

Inspired by Pablo Neruda

By Scarlett LovePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Tonight I write the saddest lines.

My thoughts and feelings,

The sad and insecure,

The lonely and unspoken,

However -- not all of them tonight.

Tonight only a few,

The few needed to be known,

but not them all.

The one I want and love,

doesn’t wish to love me,

Not as I love him.

He loves another

I'm sure.

Tonight I write the saddest lines,

Knowing he doesn't love me,

knowing that all we'll ever be,

Is nothing more than good friends.

breaks me down

Tonight I write the saddest lines.

How my love does not love me back,

the way I wish.

The clouds are like me,

holding everything in,

Until one day the rain rushes out,

I am cold icy rain,

My tears, weeping and crying.

Tonight I write the saddest lines,

I stand there in this cold rain,

in these gray clouds,

waiting for my knight in shining armor,

“Come save me, please. Save me from myself,”

I cry, but my knight isn’t listening.

Take me out of this cold rain,

make me warm again,

This feeling isn’t the same,

No warmth,

Instead of blissfulness, tiredness,

No peacefulness - it’s gone.

I'm waiting for him to come save me,

To make me feel loved.

Tonight I write the saddest lines,

I know the one I love,

doesn't love me,

I can see it,

I can feel it.

thoughts swirl in my head,

a tornado shrieking

that if he loves me,

his love wouldn't be real.

He wouldn’t really love me,

His love would be out of pity.

Tonight I write the saddest lines,

I wait for him,

My knight in shining armor.

But he does not come.

Tonight I write the saddest lines,

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.