Poets logo

Tongue-in-Cheek PRIDE

Why I don't go to PRIDE

By Emma Edwins (R.T. Edwins)Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2022
23

Invites and encouragement I declined,

Confused expressions are what I find,

From youthful exuberance eager to go,

And watch the corporate pageantry all for show,

Not knowing what I’ve come to see,

After so many years being this “new” me,

They still think their authenticity fights,

A machine of politics and blinking lights,

But I know something that they don’t,

That their gender expression won’t,

Be the thing that keeps them employed,

Or protects them from hopes destroyed,

When through smiling teeth and convincing lies,

Phobic corporate drones, their promotion denies,

So when they ask me why I don’t go to pride,

I’m faced with a difficult choice to decide,

Do I tell them the truth that they’ll come to find?

Or tell a half-truth I hope they don’t see behind?

Compassion tells me that they deserve to know,

But compassion tells me not to dim their glow,

“I just don’t like the crowds anymore”

Is what I say and hope to shut the door,

On this conversation I didn’t ask to be part of,

And they seem content with my answer, sort of.

And now the weekend has come and gone,

And all the corporate campaigns are done,

It’s back to the regular business week,

With all it’s phobic tongue-in-cheek,

Of why that person got the job I desired,

And how the best candidate was who got hired,

Trying hard to ignore the painful fact,

Of this deck of cards, against me stacked,

Never mind that I was more qualified,

Because I’m expected to remain dignified,

As I pour over their resume completely dull,

Knowing that mine was twice as full,

So while they share excited stories about parades,

I am forced to choose between quitting and charades,

Do I remain in this job I’ve come to love,

Knowing the discrimination coming from above,

Or do I try to find another employer,

Where being transgender isn’t a career destroyer?

Maybe one of those sponsor corporations,

And hope they weren’t just there for public relations.

social commentary
23

About the Creator

Emma Edwins (R.T. Edwins)

Novelist, blogger, poet, and therapist.

Author of the thriller "Dark Offerings," and the "Chariots of Heaven" sci-fi series.

Author of the serial novellas "Scarlet Dreams" and "The Definitely Dead Debbie Downer."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • AGB2 years ago

    Wow, very nice!

  • HeyItsPhephen2 years ago

    The pain and emotion in this poem is palpable. Well written and very compelling.

  • LilyRose2 years ago

    Brilliant!

  • Irene Mielke2 years ago

    You're really good at writing. You caught my attention the whole way through your poem.

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    This is an excellent contest entry. I'm starting to think these works should be bundled and distributed to the corporations that are fairweather friends instead of true allies. The job that deserves you is out there. Until then, the community here is grateful you're a part of it. I hope you visit Vocal Social Society for Poetry Weekend. Cheers Xx

  • Michele Hardy2 years ago

    This was beautiful. And also so deeply sad because of its truth.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.