Poets logo

Tokyo, Spokyo.

So it goes...

By LPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I haven’t told them the worst of it.

I haven’t told them that I saved my own life at four years old.

I haven’t told them I regret it.

I haven’t told them of the memories,

The ones I can’t recall

And the ones I’ll never know.

The blank spaces my brain has created to protect me from even more harm.

I haven’t told them the late dark nights in the back seat of the rusted blue car.

I haven’t told them of the narrow escapes or the the times I was caught.

I haven’t told them of the neglect and the constant exposure.

I haven’t told them of never being protected.

I haven’t told them of hunger that ended with hot oil and bubbling skin.

I haven’t told them that I no longer dream,

That I no longer hope.

Because I told them other things

And they couldn’t hear me

Because I shared other memories, other realities

And they were silent.

And now my mouth is dry and full of cobwebs.

I will never tell again.

list
1

About the Creator

L

“By hell there is nothing you can do that you want and by heaven you are going to do it anyway”

Anne Spencer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.