Poets logo

Together

Maybe dreams are trapped screams

By Amy LovettPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Together
Photo by Stephany Lorena on Unsplash

I watch from above

As the knife pierces flesh

My screams fill the air

But only in my mind

I am a ghost, a mist

She is solid

“She is not me!”

I shout into a vacuum

She looks skyward

I see she wears my face, my style

Her rage fills the space in between

Her victim a crumbled heap

Breathing ragged gasps

Her movements are cacophony

Stabbing the air

Mocking my silence

I try to stop her

I press with all my might

Effortlessly she walks forth

Unnoticed, I stumble backwards

Her rage like a wave

Washes over me

I stand with strength

Stepping back in her way

I reach forward as she strides

Wrapping her in my embrace

Her shaking shoulders

Start to steady

I awaken peaceful

My voice no longer silent

My movement visible once more

Broken pieces acknowledged

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Amy Lovett

Bask in the sunshine and sip on the stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.