Poets logo

Today Looks Even Brighter

Don’t stay to love on stagnant love.

By Fen TapiwaPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
He must have thought I was silly too

He told me all the sweet thing a girl would want to hear and yeah it was my fault I bought it

Only to find out 1% of the his words was the reality

I ask where is rest of it he said I need to lower my standards I’m asking for too much

I told him I thought you were a man of your word, apparently in his mind I was twisting

I had to remind him I’m only repeating your word. All of a sudden I had attitude he said try s different approach maybe we might get somewhere. I told him there is never a straightforward answer from you he looked at me and said wait and he walked off, here is me still hanging on 99% of his words waiting just waiting, trying to give him a chance to get back to his sense

All he was doing was keep coming back to rearrange the 99% to make them even sweeter

Each time he walked away it was like he will slowly fade away and all I could see was a blurry shadow fading away

And in his own time boom! Turn up.

One day I decided to follow him

It was like the more I got closer the more he couldn’t see me, was I just a silhouette

I got all these questions running through my mind but decided to brush them off, still hoping he would see me

I waited for him but he still couldn’t see where I was standing

I waved at him hoping he might finally see where I was standing but he had a lot on his plate to keep him entertained

To him I was just another person in the crowd

I got closer and tapped him on his shoulder he looked at me as though a face he had never seen before I moved away and sat somewhere he could see me but I was still a crowd

I decide stay and watch and give him space to have his fun although, I think that was the only way I could finally gasp the truth

I gave him so many chances to at least to get it right but to him, the game was settled and I was meant to stay where I was placed while he running around to fulfill his fantasies

His eyes where highly fixed on other things

At the time were important to him

At some point the entertainment wasn’t entertaining enough. As if the blinker fell off his eyes and I guess he decided to finally come and check out who I really was, sadly for him that’s when I also decided that I have seen enough all of these palaver wasn’t worth my time. I got up and walked off hoping he will literally get the same picture I got every time he walked away.

In my head I kept on repeating

Silly man

Oo what a silly

Silly silly silly man

How did I get to know one very silly man

And I have never turned back since

I heard him calling out my name

It was a joy to hear it fade away too

In my heart I was so happy with decision

Wishing I had done it sooner

Gullible and naive I was but that’s where some of my best lessons came from

The joy that runs through my veins knowing what I have escaped

Now I love me even more

So long Mr silly man.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Fen Tapiwa

As the world rotates you are in it, it’s not by chance but for a reason. There is only one world and there is only one you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.