Poets logo

Today, I am grateful for

A list

By Andie EmersonPublished 5 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
4
Dumpling? Dumpling!

The privilege I hold of forgetting about inhumanity for a few hours.

The ability to question established modus operandi.

The steaminess of my bathing water.

The turbulence of a few heartbeats.

The unfolding of gaping doors.

The blooming of my backbone.

The late goodbyes that caress the dimple of my cheeks.

The traces left by the humans who recently shared my path.

The beings who have journeyed through my peaks, stumbles and falls.

The barely audible humming of the dishwasher.

All of who I am right now,

and who I will be as the world continues to turn.

And you, what are you grateful for today?

listinspirational
4

About the Creator

Andie Emerson

Queer. Awkward. An anxious wreck, but firm believer in self-work.

Authenticity & progress over illusion & perfectionism.

Makes a living working in home improvement.

C

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Catherine Nyomenda5 months ago

    I am alive. Grateful for that.

  • This was so positive and uplifting. As for me, I'm grateful for a roof over my head and food on my plate!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.