Poets logo

"TOAST IN 2024"

"TOAST OUT 2023"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
6
VIDEO & PHOTOGRAPHY & SOUND BY VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

This is a rhyme or reason prose of 2023, AI, relationships, ocean breezes through Google mini and Alexa forwarded into a metaphor of toasting into 2024 and out of 2023.

Today is December 27, 2023.

Here I sit in my room.

I hear the oceans waves as they collaborate,

with google mini speaker of glee.

No more doom, and gloom,

A New Year is upon us as we await

New Years Eve,

And the toast of glasses and cries of glee,

to ring in the year 2024,

of now and forevermore.

We end 2023 year with kisses,

and hits and misses,

of love on the internet,

with a bet

of is this one real or I bet they are not.

Take it with a grain of salt,

What it ought,

to be is all must contact per video call.

No AI or manifestations of faux

animations,

of head turns and twist of all,

to produce a call,

to steal money,

from the victim of the call of

an imposter.

Kiss me quick. Kiss me dear.

It's the end of the year.

Pay my fee,

and you will see me.

No, I will not pay you your fee.

So, I ignore it and laughed with glee,

as you move onto the next soul.

But you are not foooling me.

I look at you,

You look at me,

as we glance into the future

of 2024.

I wish for money, peace, love and light,

to be in sight

of our flight or fight,

not of glee but of love and understanding,

of life as each sees it.

Is it a bot, or a real

person of surreal

reality,

of glee,

of strife,

as we toast for 2024,

ringing out 2023?

Pray to end war.

Pray to mend bridges,

of neglect.

Let's have respect, for each other,

to reflect

the possibility of a reality zooms

meeting,

with the latest bid,

of the character I am speaking to

online of wealth and fame,

is only a game,

of a romance scammer

of ill intent,

to rob the poor soul who thinks they are real.

I appeal,

all romance scammers leave.

Don't call me, write to me, or beg for your fee.

You will not get it from me.

But if you are real,

knock on my door,

sit a spell,

tell me stories of travel

and well,

just kiss me baby,

on the lips, for real.

I toast to

Happy New Year 2024.

We can sit a spell,

and well,

whatever you are to wake up to

in the New Year 2024.

WRITTEN BY

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

DECEMBER 27, 2024

surreal poetryProseinspirationalFree Verse
6

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Beautiful poem!

  • Excellent poem, this would be perfect for our Challenge in Vocal Social Society https://www.facebook.com/groups/376191867241324/permalink/906753084185197 Happy 2024

  • Loved your poem so much! Wishing you a veryyyyy Happy New Year and may only good things come your way! 🥰🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.