Poets logo

To Those Who've Lost a Companion This Year

It never gets easier...

By Rene Volpi Published 5 months ago 1 min read
5
Bita, my Guardian Angel. Photo by the author.

This coming year, February, will be the anniversary of the death of my best friend. A girl who would have sacrificed her life for me or my family, my guardian angel, my lucky star, Baby Bita.

A midnight black Belgian Malinois, cute as a button as a pup and magnificently beautiful full-grown.

There are no words to describe the pain of losing an animal companion. Most of us who had an animal own us would know these words. Their absence leaves a void in our home and our heart that it's truly irreplaceable. Nothing can compare as they never said a word and never had to.

We’ll never forget them. I'll never forget you.

So, this coming year, I'll honor your departure from this realm and will have you on my mind until we meet again, as they say, “Over the Rainbow Bridge.”

I love you.

The good ol' days in Miami, Fl. Photo by the author.

Gratitude
5

About the Creator

Rene Volpi

I'm from Italy and write every day. Being a storyteller by nature, I've entertained (and annoyed) people with my "expositions" since I was a child, showing everyone my primitive drawings, doodles, and poems. Still do! Leave me a comment :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • k eleanor5 months ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss. Sending love! ❤

  • I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 I lost my cat two and a half years ago, so I completely understand how you feel. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.