Poets logo

To the words, you spoke, and the lessons you taught for my future will not be your past

My mom is truly the strongest person I know and her love and resilience are unmatched. I only hope that I can one day have a fragment of the strength she is. I showcase the words and lessons she has instilled in me and continue to speak as I grow with hopes that it speaks to others as well.

By Michelle LJPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
To the words, you spoke, and the lessons you taught for my future will not be your past
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

I will make sure you are loved

I will make sure you are seen

I will make sure your voice is heard

I will make sure you are not just a dream

This world will try to cage you in

But they will not be able to cut off the wings I give you

You are the light in my life and you will shine bright

I will make sure you understand that you are indeed worthy of love

I will make sure you understand that each fight can be won

I will make sure you understand you are not a woman because society tells you so but rather you are a woman because you understand that there is no definition to follow

You are not a mistake

You are not an inconvenience

You do not have to follow what they say and you do not have to make them want you

I will make sure to scream the loudest

I will make sure to carry the bandages

And clean and kiss every battle scar as you become the Queen and savior

Of your own body and your own heart and your mind so young yet powerful

You are nothing like this family

You will not become the bullies

You will not become the past but instead you will reimagine the future

You will redefine what it means to be raised in this culture and you will make great strides

Young girl you are loved

Young girl you are bright

Young girl you don't know how much of an impact you have despite just learning your left from your right

My girl you will strive

My girl you will succeed

My girl you will shine so bright just like walt disney believed

He says “ I only hope that we never lose sight of one thing — that it all began with a mouse.”

So right he is

And so powerful we are

Something so tiny

Something so small

Can spark a light inside of someones heart

Creating hope and love for all

Like your idol Mickey Mouse

You are a star

And despite being viewed as small

You have sparked a light in my heart and you will light the candles of every other person you encounter

My baby,you are magic just like your pal the mouse

And this world will fall in love with all of you

slowly but surely you will win this race

I know it will not be easy

And I know you will want to give up

But as long as I am here I will be with you

With love, laughs and hugs

Your future will not be my past

For you history will not repeat itself

I refuse to let it go past

My arms and into your mind

I will protect you from all the hate and lies

My baby, my love will be your shield

And the knowledge you obtain will be your sword

Your future will not be my past

Your future will be your own

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Michelle LJ

Writing allows me to escape the tornado of scars and fears in my mind if only for a moment

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.