Poets logo

To the Moon and Back

Child of Mine

By Cindy CalderPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
3

Dear Child of Mine,

How I long to see you,

To hear your footsteps

Amid the music of your laughter

And have it fill my home.

I miss you -

I miss everything about you

More than you will ever know.

I most especially miss all things

Uniquely you:

Your green eyes filled with specks of gold

That crinkle into tiny creases

Whenever you laugh or smile;

Your quirky sense of humor;

Your gentle, loving hands,

Accentuated by graceful, long fingers;

The lyrical music of your voice;

Your endless love of rescuing animals

And those in need;

And even your desire to debate the issues,

Which is a polite way of denoting

Your argumentative nature.

I would give all I have

To see your face again –

To see your beautiful smile,

To wrap my arms about you

And embrace you full circle.

While I know

I was not a perfect mother,

I do know I tried.

More importantly, I loved you

Beyond measure,

And always unconditionally,

Through thick and thin -

Even through those

Alienlike, teenage years

That were so full of strife,

Anger, and tears

for us both.

I tried to teach you

The true meaning of love

And forgiveness,

Mostly by example.

I hoped it would stick,

Form a foundation in you.

You must remember

That those you love

Are merely human

And will always fall short

Of your expectations.

To forge a way in this world,

You must learn to forgive;

It's a necessary catalyst

For healing

And moving forward.

That, my child,

Is where the unconditional love

Comes most into play,

Just remember,

It may be toughest to forgive

Those who you love most.

Child of mine,

Wherever you may be,

Be happy and at peace.

Let go of all negativity,

Which you’re inclined to clasp

Tightly within the recesses

Of your soul.

Instead, release all things fatalistic

With abject determination,

Release it all

Into the broad universe,

Trusting its magic

To handle what you cannot.

Be kind to yourself

And remember there are

Those who will always

Love you

Despite the vast distance

That divides you.

I miss you, my dear, sweet child,

With each breath I take,

With each sunrise

And each sunset.

I may not see you

Or hold you close,

but you will forever be mine

To love and cherish

in thought and memory.

Though I miss

The warmth and vibrancy

That embodies you,

I will hold you close

Within my heart,

I will love you always,

To the moon and back,

Ten million times over.

This, my dear Tessa,

I promise as long as

My soul endures.

Missing you always and sending much love,

Mom

Words: 575

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.