Poets logo

To The Me Who Bought Celery

(Appreciate The Effort!)

By C. H. RichardPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2023
69
To The Me Who Bought Celery
Photo by okeykat on Unsplash

To Me Who Bought Celery,

I know you had the best intention

Beautiful green stalks would be

A tasty health intervention

The plan last shopping day

Said it would be a breeze

To chop up for a salad

Or a snack with ease

You were convinced

In the days ahead

You would not reach

For cookies, chips, or bread

Time forever

On your side

Planning and eating

With nutritional pride

There was such hope

For the increased

Vitamins, minerals, and fiber

A full-fledged plan

Feeling fit and lighter

Yet understand,

Me Who Bought Celery

As I open the fridge

Looking at everything

Other than nary

Of the stalks once so green

Now looking brown

And somewhat mean

So, To Me who Bought Celery

You forgot to check

With Me Too Tired and Weary

Or Me Who Wants Something

Quick And Less Dreary

You had grand ideas

That salsa, peanut butter

Or salad dressing

Would combine and complete

And make it less depressing

I commend you

For your plan

As I toss the brown green

Vegetable in the trash can

Please try again

As I now want something

Healthy to have on hand

Thanks,

Cindy

surreal poetryheartbreak
69

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (47)

Sign in to comment
  • Angel Whelanabout a year ago

    Lol this is a struggle I know all too well!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Lol. I enjoyed your poem, Cindy. I go through the same thing but usually only with tomatoes and bananas. Well, I’m sure we all go through it with bananas. Thanks again for sharing.

  • Abby Kay Mendoncaabout a year ago

    Omg. Fabulous!

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    I loathe celery, so well done for at least *intending* to snack on it!

  • Erica Wagnerabout a year ago

    This sure made me smile. Nicely done and very relatable!

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    I love it 💖I’m sure I have some limp celery somewhere in the depths of my fridge too 🤣

  • la perezosa guióner about a year ago

    This is so lovely.

  • Susanna Kiernanabout a year ago

    I really liked this! Very relatable.

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    Nice! Celery is good. Golden poem!

  • Raulabout a year ago

    For true!

  • Loryne feels so attacked. I just feel seen, like somebody gets me, lol. The road to obesity & diabetes is paved with good intentions. Congrats on top story. Great job!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    I feel so attacked! 🤣🤣🤣🤣 This needs to place in the Epistolary Challenge!

  • Consumer Chroniclesabout a year ago

    Dear c.h.richard I completely understand how you feel. It can be challenging to follow through with healthy eating plans, especially when we have busy and tiring days. You had the best intentions when you bought the celery, and it's great to see that you were committed to improving your nutrition. However, sometimes plans don't work out the way we envision them. It's essential to consider our individual needs and preferences when planning our meals. What works for one person might not work for another. In this case, it seems like the celery didn't fit into your current lifestyle and needs. I encourage you not to give up on your healthy eating goals. You can start small by incorporating simple changes into your routine that are manageable and enjoyable for you. Remember to take the time to listen to your body and find what works best for you. Thank you for sharing your experience, Cindy. It's a reminder that we all make mistakes, and it's okay to try again. Sincerely, Consumer Chronicles

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Awesome work!

  • Lena Folkertabout a year ago

    lol so accurate! I LOVE celery juice. like LOVE it. So I always stock up on organic celery and lemons... but then juicing is SO laborious... they just rot and I hate myself... and the cycle continues! lol Congrats on top story!!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was too good. I’m so impressed with your ability to bring the every day to life. Great poem

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Very relatable! Happens to me all the time. 😅 Great job and congrats on Top Story! 😍

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Haha! Love this! So true!

  • Verso de Medianocheabout a year ago

    yeap, it reminds me for my celery that now is almost brown. hey, could you also check my profile and read one of my poem or story? Thanks!

  • Randa Rayabout a year ago

    I’ve lived through this many times, you know my veggie hopes and dreams 😝 🫶

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    haha, this one was fun and relatable! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Amazing article ✨💖Congratulations on your Top Story❗🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Daniel Stineabout a year ago

    Celery! That's what I forgot today at the market. The limp stalks in my refrigerator's vegetable tray long to be freed. Thanks for this slice of everyone's daily world. Congrats on top story.

  • ARCabout a year ago

    Cindy this is so well-done both in form and in content! 🥬 As a Vocal friend who has been in the place your true-to-life poem speaks: You Got This. Keep at it! Beautiful poem and congrats on TS - so well-deserved 👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.