Poets logo

To Play the Villain

We are not always the hero in the stories of others. We are cast as the villain.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
11
To Play the Villain
Photo by Rahul Pariharacodu on Unsplash

I think the worst part is

You could never see the way I saw you

The world had taught you such cruel lessons

It tore any bit of confidence you ever had

Insecurity was your greatest flaw

That fear tore you up inside

And made you mistrust anything I ever said

All I ever wanted to do was love you

But you couldn’t see yourself the way I saw you

Or maybe you chose not to listen

Because it was easier to listen to that fear

Than to accept the love you deserved

My words could never reach you

My poetry fell dead on your porch

In those days my world was a little darker

By Rachel Hig on Unsplash

You wanted me to be your hero

But never let me into your tower

You wanted my light

Without giving anything back

Cause darling

No one is coming to save you

You have to save yourself

I wasn’t the hero of your story

But you made me the villain

If that’s what it takes for you to save yourself

I'll gladly play the role

heartbreak
11

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.