Poets logo

To Night

This is based on real life experience. I wrote this as I was experiencing it.

By JAY PATELPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
6

Tonight

the ticking of the clock is the loudest

because there is no other sound;

each ticking

sounds like falling of grains of time.

I, tucked in my bed, see something lurking

in the kitchen; even the sound of chair being

moved;

the rustling of the calendar makes my heart

flutter like the only leaf on a bald tree.

I move the blanket up to my head

yet I feel somone breathing down my neck,

ready to pounce

but as soon as I take my head out,

there is no

one.

The sudden snore from my grandma

strangely calms me down,

reminding me that I am still on earth

and not transported to the nest of fear,

not a host of ghosts.

Then fleeting laughter

clamours through the hall—

I look that way and it

subsides;

sometimes gathered

courage to confront

but it dies down like going off

of a bulb.

.

..

...

....

the ticking begins

again.

surreal poetrysad poetry
6

About the Creator

JAY PATEL

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poem & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! 🩵

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Love this poignant piece!

  • Oooo, I loved how dark and poignant this was. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.