Poets logo

To Nigeria From Home

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2022
24
To Nigeria From Home
Photo by Francis Tokede on Unsplash

From my kitchen,

I travel

to exotic Nigeria!

I smell

the nutty, spicy and salty scent

of African Groundnut Stew

emanating from my soup pot.

Mmmmm……. it’s lip-smacking yummy!

I crave

the mushy, fluffy and plain

batch of homemade fufu

to eat with my stew!

I’ll make it soon!

My soul gambols

to the meditative vibration

of the ancient Oja flute

emerging from my phone.

It’s penicillin for my spirit!

From my home office,

I listen to

the native Yoruba language

being spoken

in YouTube video clips.

From the lobby,

I carefully attend to

the novel accents

of Yoruba speakers.

It feels like I’m already in Lagos, Nigeria!

By Francis Tokede on Unsplash

Thanks for taking the time to read another one of my free verse poems! If you enjoyed this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, and feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned!

Please connect with me outside of Vocal!

IG Account: @tdwrites24

By Chris Abney on Unsplash

surreal poetry
24

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.