Poets logo

To My Younger Self

Chapter Closings

By Hannah HooperPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
#photogenicpoetry

Wanting to pen my younger self,

Dust-stained book taken off my shelf.

Blank pages crinkled inside.

Waiting to hold words with pride.

Words filled with wisdom crossing many years,

Years of many sorrows compiled with life’s tears.

Lessons learned and scars carried,

Stories told of every bad and good deed.

The pen hovers over the ancient, thinned wood,

Anything I wanted to say; anything I could.

What would I say to my younger self,

As one day I would place my book on her shelf.

I would start with I was once like you,

From all the same likes and things you do.

Like twins, look-alikes, two-in one the same,

All the way down to the very same name.

……..

For I am her and she is me,

Although I’m not all she wanted me to be.

For I have let her down in many ways,

Still I know for me she prays.

She hopes that one day I find my way,

So out she may come from inside her cage.

Out into the world forever to stay,

By my side; come what may.

For I have kept her locked away,

Thrown the key; in prison she lays.

Ashamed; embarrassed; filled with hate,

At her exhausted and hopeless state.

So heal my inner self I must,

Learn to lean on others and trust.

Trust myself and others too,

Gentleness and kindness in all that I do.

……..

I mused at what to write,

Some words that were worthy; nothing trite.

That might shed a little light,

Light on the future; deeper insight.

Live each day like it’s your last,

For the future is not guaranteed in the forecast.

Be fully aware and present in every moment,

Give thanks for every memory spent.

Treat others as yourself,

Put oneself in another’s hell.

A different perspective always helps,

Connects and helps relationships excel.

Heal the hurt within your heart,

Go deep; down into every part.

Life has chapters; an end and a start,

Some doors when closed are hard to depart,

Hard to move on when staying seems right,

Not realizing the mountains have blocked our sight.

Sight of the valleys below,

Valleys that suddenly slow.

Slow our progress yet we grow,

Even when our strength and stamina dip low.

Experience shapes our world view,

Reflected in all that we say and do.

So younger self; younger me,

Always strive to be all that you can be.

Not for anyone other than you,

These are my words to you; just a few.

That I would one day fully express in a book,

Years spent taking an inward look.

To write all there is to say,

daily I work to write without delay.

Hand in hand working to heal,

Together we will climb every uphill.

From the valley chills, you, I will shield,

On a foundation of pain we will no longer build.

For now I will gently put,

The book back in its nook.

Unfinished but thoughts expressed,

Talking to you alleviates depression and stress.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.