Poets logo

To My Very First Lover

A Poem

By Jade MillardPublished 7 years ago 1 min read

Not only were you my first love,

But you were also my first heartbreak

When we were together, you would make my heart ache

Whether that was through undeniable lust, or simply a lack of trust

I genuinely did see a future for the both of us

That's no longer a topic which the two of us shall discuss

The beginning of our relationship was comparable to "the calm before the storm"

At first, all you ever did was kept me safe and warm

You were the human that I referred to as my home

I didn't believe for one second that you would ever leave me alone

Months went by and it became apparent that you were the storm

Not only did I then end up alone, but I also ended up torn

It was now time to start listening to the signs

I had to grow and figure out what I wanted on my own

It was now time to forget calling another human my home.

heartbreakinspirational

About the Creator

Jade Millard

I'm a 16 year old girl from England, usually found writing poetry or blog posts. I have a passion for all things relating to music, photography, travelling or mental health.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jade MillardWritten by Jade Millard

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.