Poets logo

To My Past

Letter

By w_d_Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

We’ve known each other my whole life. Me and you, my past. You have been a great companion. Most of the time. You did your best to keep us safe and sane. Most of the time. You have led me through some tough times and held my hand. You were there for me, when I needed you. You were also there when I didn’t want you. Always. The time has come for us to part our ways. You can stay where you are, in the past. And I. I will take a different turn and go towards the future. I will look ahead, and ahead only. I will miss you, but I am not coming back. I am not turning back.

You need to stay where you belong. And I need to go, where I belong. Where I am headed there is only room for one of us. And so, my beloved past I must leave you, in the past.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

w_d_

Illustrations, poems and short stories.

Follow me on Instagram @ w_d_poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.