Poets logo

To My Boss

Who likes to talk a lot- based on me falling asleep during a speech

By Sarah DanaherPublished about a year ago 1 min read
To My Boss
Photo by RU Recovery Ministries on Unsplash

To my boss - who liked to talk a lot -

I know I fell asleep

During your non-rousing speech

Truly I was tired from lack of sleep

And working your mandatory overtime

To boost your numbers all the time

While you sit in your office

Sitting there all day long in a conference

It was a non-important subject

With no relevant context

That has nothing to do with my job

So, you were just being a snob

You just like to hear yourself talk

Like an interesting talking sock

I know you are not a common worker

With no hard-working fervor

But I do not really care

Just tell me what matters to my job here

And how it effects the operation

Of continued cooperation

Not just about some useless conversating

I am not sorry even with you complaining

I have work to do

And you are an interruption too

You have a big, bloated ego

Now they have just let you go

Now you are just a former boss

Who was canned with his ego tossed

Signed

Not sorry and fatigued employee

slam poetry

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I may have to memorize this... and I have never been at a meeting that couldn't have been handled by memo or email. Thanks for telling the truth!

SDWritten by Sarah Danaher

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.