Poets logo

To My Best Friend

A Letter of Thanks

By Cassie GracePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Dear Best Friend,

Thank you.

Thank you for all you’ve done for me over the last twelve years.

Thank you for standing by me.

Thank you for supporting me.

Thank you for being there for me, through everything.

For being there to obsess over Harry Potter with,

For encouraging my writing even when I doubt myself,

For being there when my mom found my illicit fanfiction,

For hiding my fanfiction throughout middle and high school even after you moved to another state,

For being the only other girl in my middle school class at a private school,

For trusting me when I told you your friends were using you,

For being open when I showed you music, movies, and books you weren’t allowed to have when you were young,

For being there to talk to in my darkest moments,

For being there during the seven years of self-harm,

For being there before, during, and after the five suicide attempts,

For being there when my first fiance ended things,

For being there when my first fiance killed his family and committed suicide by cop,

For being there when I decided I needed help,

For being there when I told my parents the truth about the self-harm and suicide attempts,

For being there when I asked my parents to take me to therapy,

For being there when I dropped out of college because my mental health plummeted again,

For being there when I moved out of my parents' house,

For being there when I started dating again,

For being there when I got engaged again,

For being my maid of honor,

For being my hype woman,

For being there when I lost my job,

For being there when I decided to put myself first for the first time in four years,

For being there when I got my nose pierced,

For being there when I dyed my hair every other month since high school,

For being there when I was diagnosed with PCOS,

For being there when I found out I cannot have children,

For being the only person who consistently listens to me,

For supporting my decision to start the foster care process,

For offering to be a surrogate if my husband decides he wants a biological child,

For being there when I feel like my entire life is spiraling out of control,

Thank you for being there,

Through thick and thin.

Always,

Your Best Friend.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Cassie Grace

I'm from Kentucky. I write stuff. I use inspiration from my personal life for most of my writing. I'm currently working on writing a book, but we'll see how that turns out. For now, enjoy some of my poems and random archived writings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.