Poets logo

To Ms. Dandelion (Sonnet)

Hoping for green

By Christian LeePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
12

One’s innocence of thought is not to taint;

But chance and luck, to die, are their own die,

So rolled the eyes I mulled of blue to paint

The dandelions I would bring to lie.

It’s when you blinked, the sea in me arose,

And though I failed the art of lean and learn

To press or rip your buttons...but surprise

Would win occasion, there my waves would turn

On something new to grasp, despite the clues

In scatterings, for then the sun to sing

Our eyes together, whether jazz or blues

Invoked the rhythm-close enough to ring!

You wanted matrimony made to light,

Yet all the yellow rich in me drew fright.

sad poetry
12

About the Creator

Christian Lee

My nom de plume is Lee Arachnid; think: spider-poet. Here you will find non-fiction and poetry. I interweave elements of nature and my personal experience into uniquely crafted stories. I love idleness, Felidae, literature, and soundscapes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    “The sea in my arose,”. What a powerful line. A thousand words painted in five. Truly poetic. 🥰

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    The way each line capitulates to the next, giving over to a new turn to the story, seriously gave me chills. This is so good! Wow.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wow, this poem is gorgeous, mysterious, and tells a compelling story. When I read it, I begin to put pieces together of what happened, but I still wonder. I really love this. Great work! I hearted and subscribed. :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.