Poets logo

To: Mom

Birthed from the rainbow.

By Kalina XiongPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
To: Mom
Photo by Amin Moshrefi on Unsplash

Blood that cannot be as thick as the kinship of bigotry,

Ignorance that becomes shrill.

A drop of my secret leaks the potency,

Be that my heart to fulfill.

If you had not been my first home

Distance, for the lack thereof,

Could have been my close relative instead of bundles of unconditional love.

Your dark, glaring eyes as though they are grey clouds;

Sleight of rage bursts into precipitation,

Sprinkling down an unfamiliar sprout.

A silver lining unveils the rainbow I resonate in.

Notice, my structure unaffected

For it has always been that way.

A pattern you wish to exchange in spite of the dispersing, colorful ray.

Of your creation, I am the same beautiful child.

You've loved me in every way.

Must not accept, lest the concern a while

For be damned that I am gay.

Needn't you worry, I did not leave,

May you not perceive me wrong.

Must do accept, I am still me.

Hey, I am still here, Mom.

inspirational

About the Creator

Kalina Xiong

When you engulf yourself enough in other people's worlds, you eventually fantasize about your own.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kalina XiongWritten by Kalina Xiong

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.