Poets logo

To Have Known You

Is to have fallen into a deep ocean

By Ali SPPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
To Have Known You
Photo by Solé Bicycles on Unsplash

To have known you

Was falling into a deep ocean

Uncovering secrets

Secured and buried

You only revealed the surface

The rest remained hidden from the light of day

A photoshopped identity

Is what you portrayed

*

You hid behind your public face

For years

That’s the person I embraced

In time your true self showed through

Now I can say thank you

*

Thank you for showing me

That people aren’t always who they pretend to be

You misrepresented yourself

The version I knew disappeared

The real you showed up one day instead

*

Dressed in the same clothes

Outside you looked the same

The words you spoke and your actions

Told me everything about the lie you portrayed

*

There I was holding on to hope

Believing in second chances

Then you broke me

Like shards of glass, you kicked me away

As if I could cause you damage

*

For what you did

I wished you kicked using bare feet

To get a sense of the pain that you had caused me

*

I can’t thank you enough

When you thought you broke me

You allowed me to piece myself into a beautiful mosaic

A chance to recreate a stronger and more beautiful version of me

......................................

Thank you for reading!

This piece was first published on medium.

slam poetry
4

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.