Poets logo

To Filter, Or Not To Filter? That's Not Even A Question

If the Barn Needs Painting...

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Don’t judge me by my profile pics

Cause the picture that you see -

Is a flattering, filtered photo of who I want you all to see

A decent looking woman, with some sarcasm and a smile

Who writes about the feelings - that have worn on her awhile

Age has a way of catching those who are weary of the race

And smacks it for the world to see - as wrinkles on your face

The soft smooth skin - left in the sun - to golden and to bronze

Now looks more like Freddy Kruger - when Halloweening season comes

Don’t get me wrong - I was never much to write back home about

Not the kind that started fights - while others gathered round

But I have a few nice qualities that have gotten better than before

And I don’t really worry much, about that other stuff no' more

So, that picture may not fully represent the older me - behind the phone

But I’m nicer than I let on, so leave my phone filters alone.

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Super splendid superb spectacular slam poetry!!!💖💕

  • it is good to play with whatever we have, enjoyed reading this

  • Misty Rae2 years ago

    Love it. I'm at that age where it's all kinda catching up. I choose not to do filters, but that's me. That's the beauty of being an adult, we can choose how we wish to present ourselves to the world. Your poem is very relatable, well done.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Aww, this is great. Love it. And that pirate pic - lol.

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.