Poets logo

To Fear

Check Mate

By Heather ClimerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Leaning in

To

Myself

I won't bend

For your will

You think

You have me

Figured out

You think

I'll cave

Out of compassion

For your emotional ache

What you fail to realize

Is that I wrote down

Every lie

Every broken promise

Every hollow scampering around your heart

That painted me

Out

Of all the things

You perceive as lack

Within yourself

You hold me accountable

For your own disease

and my empathy

Had me believe

It was true

I

See

You

And

I

Will

Not

Bend.

This love

Is for me now

You don't want it

You want to see me

Dance

On puppet strings

Be a

Good little girl

Fulfill you

Sacrifice

Myself

...

Fuck You.

I have unraveled each web

That you claimed as truth

Your illusion

Your confusion

You

Are powerless here.

You don't own

Me.

You

Will

Never have

Me

Again.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Heather Climer

A chaotic combination of music, molecules, color and curiosity. Fueled by no small amount of caffeine, I find inspiration in the world around me, and do my best to represent my reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.