Poets logo

To Be Yellow

A compliment from a stranger

By Stephanie NielsenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
1

A man approached me once

In a college-town bar

He sang Hank and Johnny Cash

The lines and wrinkles on his face

A road map of his journeys

His hair was graying-black

His brown leather well-worn

He came up to my table

And told me seven words

“When I see you I see yellow”

I was a little drunk

In that college-town bar

I sang STP and Miley

That middling karaoke

Propelling my friends and I

Toward the end of the night

But I remember that man

And I remember his words

And I remember thinking then

That I didn’t want to be yellow

Yellow is old cigarette stains

Yellow is the sludge of algae

Carpeting a quiet lake

My sympathetic nervous system

Shutting down with adrenaline

Is yellow – my belly painted

For the whole world to see

I knew that he meant well

I knew to smile and thank him

But I didn’t want to be yellow

I wanted to be red

Full of vibrance and passion

Or hinting at danger

A rose tucked in a lapel

A bottle of sangria

Blood dripping from a dagger

Red is a roulette wheel

Red is a bra flung on the floor

Red is a no trespassing sign

I would’ve liked to be red

I would’ve also taken blue

Calm and ever stoic

Deep and mysterious

A hidden, pristine lagoon

A cloudless afternoon sky

An old Ford pickup truck

Blue is meditation

Blue is a saxophone solo

Blue is a morning in the mountains

I would’ve liked to be blue

I’ve thought a lot about that man

And his eidolon that night

I’ve wondered what vision burgeoned

And bade him name me yellow

Was it a splash of sunshine

Or a well-aged guitar

Was it a Sunday brunch

Or an April wheat field

Could it possibly be

That I deserved to be yellow

I’m sure he just intended

An ephemeral compliment

But those words instilled a challenge

I go into that white world now

And sing my passable songs

And try to remind someone

Of an aspen in autumn

I no longer seek blue or red

I go into that white world now

And I try to be yellow

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Stephanie Nielsen

All the power held

I can create and destroy

With a simple pen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.