Poets logo

To Be or To Die Trying?

by Lolly Vieira

By Lolly VieiraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
"Galaxy Glitch" original painting and editing by Lolly Vieira

sometimes there is so much going on

so much life

that I forget to live

the appointments, the shopping,

the classes (unstopping),

the playdates, the cleaning,

the crafts, the eating,

the workbooks, the boardgames,

the cooking, straightening frames,

the “necessary” exercise (I swear it kills me sometimes),

the hygiene,

the caffeine,

all to helps with the caregiving,

the emotional lessons, the breakdowns, and breakthroughs

it’s all just happening

constantly.

I schedule in my breaks,

plan my “relaxation”

just going along mindlessly

with my shallow breathing

and my perspiration

my idle thoughts running

hurry up and calm down

unable to remember the last time I got to just…

BE.

be without expectations

and deadlines

and the rushing and the panic and the

i m p e n d i n g d o o m

sick of needing to be somewhere

do something

act a certain way

AT ALL TIMES

When do I get the time to just be me?

When will I allow myself to have that?

Why haven’t I yet?

Am I running away from me?

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Lolly Vieira

Welcome to my page where I make sense of all the facets of myself through poetry and short stories.

I'm an artist of many mediums and strive to know and do better every day.

https://linktr.ee/lollyslittlelovelies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.