Poets logo

to be free

a moment in breaking my own heart

By Jesse BixbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
to be free
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

the moment I saw you, I saw your potential

and wanted it so badly for myself.

you are no good for me,

because I am not good enough for you,

yet I crave you anyway,

a pain I am willing to endure, for you.

I wish you would see me the way I see you;

glowing, radiant, brilliant.

yet I am not you; rather the opposite.

I would turn your world into despair.

you don't deserve that.

so, instead I will fantasize about you,

lost in the never-ending daydream:

the one where you see me too,

and you take my darkness and turn it into light.

suddenly, I am free.

you make me better, healthier, happier.

I want to absorb you into my skin,

take your cells, your DNA, your thoughts,

and make them my own.

but I am no good for you,

so I will let you be.

and instead, dream of what it's like to be

free.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jesse Bixby

Freelance writer in Vancouver, BC.

Instagram: @babybix

TikTok: @jessbixby

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.